Book Reviews · Books

Review: Every Other Day

11750412Title: Every Other Day

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Series: Stand alone

Genre: YA, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal

Pub Date: Dec. 27th 2011

Pages: 336

Paperback

Every other day, Kali D’Angelo is a normal sixteen-year-old girl. She goes to public high school. She argues with her father. She’s human.

And then every day in between . . . she’s something else entirely.

Though she still looks like herself, every twenty-four hours predatory instincts take over and Kali becomes a feared demon-hunter with the undeniable urge to hunt, trap, and kill zombies, hellhounds, and other supernatural creatures. Kali has no idea why she is the way she is, but she gives in to instinct anyway. Even though the government considers it environmental terrorism.

When Kali notices a mark on the lower back of a popular girl at school, she knows instantly that the girl is marked for death by one of these creatures. Kali has twenty-four hours to save her, and unfortunately she’ll have to do it as a human. With the help of a few new friends, Kali takes a risk that her human body might not survive . . . and learns the secrets of her mysterious condition in the process.


My Review:

What a wonderful story! I enjoyed every minute reading this novel and if not for the inability to keep my eyes open (since I read before bed) I quite possibly could have read in a day!

The paranormal aspects of this read were different than anything I have read but not so far as to be unbelievable. It was also very easy to keep up with everything that was going on. At one point I felt my breath quicken as I got nervous and was anxiously awaiting the resolution to a problem. There was a moment when I feel like I should have cried but there was so much going on that I couldn’t take the time. No worries though, it slowed down enough later I was able to shed a couple tears.

Kali – A strong willed girl with a hero complex. Without the basic understanding of social interaction, is still a caring girl fighting for what is right.

Skylar – Quite possibly my favorite character. The sidekick with the plan! Those brothers of hers, makes a girl envious!

Bethany – While being the annoying stuck-up cheerleader, I still couldnt help but appreciate her.

Elliot – One of my least favorites, quite the pessimist!!

I never got truely annoyed at any of the characters which was a nice relief. All characters are well written and unique.

I would recommend this story to anyone who likes a little contemporary paranormal. Also those who do not care any for romance as it was not a factor in this story! PG!!!

This is a stand alone novel but if a sequel were ever produced it would be on my TBR immediately!!

Happy Reading my Lovelies.

 

 

Leave a Reply

